Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday #4

May 27, 2009

The River by Mary Jane Beaufrand (Little, Brown, 2/10)

Veronica Severance feels cut off from the world. Forced to move from
the city to rural Oregon with her parents, she is haunted by loneliness
and by the chilling sounds of the Santiam, the river that runs through
her backyard.

Through the fog of isolation, Ronnie finds herself becoming close with
Karen, a young girl who she babysits. But when she discovers Karen’s
body on the banks of the Santiam, the victim of a supposed accident,
Ronnie feels compelled to uncover the truth.

Becoming increasingly obsessed with solving Karen’s death, Ronnie is
led deeper and deeper into the woods surrounding the river and to the
dark secret hidden within its midst.

Because Beaufrand’s previous novel, Primavera, was one of my favorite books of 2008.

Because the Little, Brown catalog says, “Will appeal to fans of Gail Giles and Veronica Mars,” and even though I know it’s a sales pitch, as sales pitches go, it hits the right notes with me.

Waiting on Wednesday was created by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 4:08 pm

    Ooh, sounds good. I’ll have to check out Primavera now though…hadn’t heard of it before.

    I keep meaning to check out Veronica Mars too. It’s been recommended to me by several Buffy fans.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 books I can’t wait to read « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: