Skip to content

2 hours 4 minutes and 1 book completed

June 6, 2009

48 Hour Book Challenge Update

I was able to get an earlier start than I thought and have just finished False Alarm: The Truth about the Epidemic of Fear by Marc Siegel.

Quick reaction: Siegel argues that although fear’s biological and genetic roots are useful, Americans are overly fearful, considering our safety and longevity. The government, media, and Big Pharma are to blame.

I was surprised by how fast I got through False Alarm. Overall, I think the message is an important one (though I’m more sympathetic toward public health), but the writing was on the dry side and the book felt bloated and repetitive. Not sure I would have finished it, but I’m on the waiting list for Dread: How Fear and Fantasy have Fueled Epidemics from the Black Death to the Avian Flu by Philip Alcabes and I’m curious as to how the two compare.

Blogging time: 10 minutes

Now: dinner and pondering what to read next.

No comments yet

join the discussion

