Skip to content

1 hour 58 minutes

June 7, 2009

48 Hour Book Challenge Updage #4

I read Alex Flinn’s A Kiss in Time for 30 minutes last night before going to sleep, then finished it this morning. It’s a re-imagining of Sleeping Beauty, and while I enjoyed Flinn’s previous book, Beastly, I was unable to suspend my disbelief enough to like this one. I can see it being popular with girls who enjoyed Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors and lighter fairy tale retellings/reimaginings, though. I finished it, but felt mostly indifferent about it.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while now, you might have noticed that I don’t review as many books as other bloggers, and maybe these last couple of posts tell you why. I’ve finished 4 books, didn’t finish two, and I think this is actually a pretty good ratio for me in terms of completing books. It feels odd blogging about books I otherwise wouldn’t blog about, because I normally don’t write about DNFs and my reaction to A Kiss in Time was so lukewarm that I wouldn’t have bothered blogging about it at all. On the other hand, this is doing wonders for the blog because I’m actually blogging about books.

Total blogging/blog-reading time (people are already done! wow!): 1 hour 8 minutes.

Next: Make dinner and decide what to read next. I think I’ll go with realistic fiction or a mystery, since the last two books I tried were both fantasies didn’t done anything for me. Hmm, The Adversary? Starvation Lake? Trace of Smoke?

No comments yet

join the discussion

