Skip to content

48 Hour Book Challenge wrap-up

June 8, 2009

Total reading time: 17 hours 22 minutes

Books completed: 8

  1. False Alarm: The Truth about the Epidemic of Fear by Marc Siegel
  2. Swim the Fly by Don Calame
  3. Torn to Pieces by Margot McDonnell
  4. A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn
  5. The Adversary by Michael Walters
  6. If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  7. Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender (my Supernatural-loving self really enjoyed it)
  8. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Reviews for Bad Girls Don’t Die and Along for the Ride coming later this week.

Books not finished: 2

  1. The Night I Disappeared by Julie Reece Deaver
  2. Radiant Darkness by Emily Whitman

Total social networking time: 2 hours 54 minutes

Total time: 20 hours 16 minutes

This was my first time participating in the 48 Hour Book Challenge, and it was fun. It’s always nice to have an excuse to read, and being part of a larger challenge was an incentive to blog more frequently.

I might have more to say later, but it’s 2 am and I’m ready to sleep.

Thanks to Mother Reader for hosting, and I hope to do it again next year.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Liyana permalink
    June 8, 2009 2:40 am

    I read Bad Girls Don’t Die too! It was awesome. I’m kind of afraid to watch Supernatural alone though. LOL. Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year!

  2. June 8, 2009 3:12 am

    Well done! And you read some great stuff . . .can’t wait for the reviews.

  3. June 8, 2009 3:14 am

    Woo! Go Team Tricia!

  4. June 8, 2009 4:04 am

    You’re most welcome. Great job in your first 48HBC! You made it over 20 hours, which is no small thing!

  5. June 8, 2009 9:23 am

    Pretty impressive showing, for someone who decided to enter at the last minute, and hoped to get to 12 hours. I guess the love of reading will out, given the opportunity. I’m going to have to read If I Stay one of these days, aren’t I?

  6. June 9, 2009 5:17 am

    wow! that’s impressive!
    have you read the book of a thousand days
    by hale? i just finished that and it’s a retelling
    of a fairytale and i enjoyed it!

    how was dessen’s book? i’ve not read any of
    hers and plan on going to her signing next weekend.

  7. June 9, 2009 2:17 pm

    Thanks, everyone!

    Jen – Well, it helps that I didn’t have to work over the weekend, have no kids, and didn’t have anything that I *had* to do. Any other weekend this month, and there’s no way I could read as much. 12 hours might not have been possible. So it was good timing.

    Cindy – I did like Book of a Thousand Days. I liked Along for the Ride, too, even though I have (very) mixed feelings about some aspects of it. Which I’ll discuss when I review it. My favorite Sarah Dessen book is Just Listen.

    • June 10, 2009 2:00 pm

      thank you, trisha! i’ve heard great things
      from debs 09 interviews mentioning just
      listen. def want to pick up that one!

Trackbacks

  1. I should know better « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

