Skip to content

August/September 2009 Display

September 24, 2009
by

It’s another weird display from Gayle, your artistically challenged YA Librarian.  I have to say making this display was quite fun.  I haven’t utilized crayons in ages.  Now that I’ve discovered glittery crayons my displays may all look like some random kid’s sidewalk chalk drawings.  But then again, I think kids have more color sense than I do.  And they probably could utilize a banner creating program like PrintShop (old school software) better than me.

So what are the books on display you’re probably wondering.  The short list is at the bottom of this post, there’s many many more that could fit this theme.  Feel free to add to my list in the comments section as all you wonderful, resourceful people always do.

If you’re as old as me you probably remember the REM song “It’s the End of the World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine).”  When reading some of the books on this list, I can’t help but think of this song.

I like a good “what if…” scenario book as much as the next person.  Watching cable programming about 2012 draws me back to the genre.  I know it’s supposed to be make believe and entertaining, but I can’t help but check my cupboards for emergency supplies whenever I read one of these books.

Fever, 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Atherton series by Patrick Carman

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

City of Ember by Jeanne Du Prau

Alphabet of Dreams by Susan Fletcher

Gone and Hunger by Michael Grant

Epic and Saga by Connor Kostick

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Encyclopedia of the End: Mysterious Death in Fact, Fancy, Folklore and More by Deborah Noyes

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachett

Life as we Knew It and The Dead and Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Nation by Terry Prachett

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

Unwind by Neil Shusterman

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 10:43 am

    Ooh! Next time you can also try GLITTER GLUE!
    This looks great.

  2. September 24, 2009 1:17 pm

    I’d say that’s a pretty good selection of titles for that theme.

    Blow pens are fun for decorating posters.

  3. mona permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:11 pm

    i recently read Carbon Diaries 2015 by Saci Lloyd, which fits in with your display theme. scary stuff.

  4. LibraryLiz permalink
    September 24, 2009 5:32 pm

    Great display idea! REM is my favorite band! I’m also excited about that list!

  5. loveologyu permalink
    September 27, 2009 9:07 am

    What a fabulous display!

  6. LIsa permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:24 am

    Great display! Don’t forget Feed by MT Anderson.

  7. November 4, 2009 8:16 am

    The Forest of Hands and Teeth fits the description as well! I can actually see it off to the left in the second picture!

Trackbacks

  1. Coming soon to an imaginary bookseller near you… « The Rebel Angels step out at Twilight in their Traveling Pants

join the discussion

