Skip to content

2009 in brief

January 6, 2010
by

I was a very Bad Blogger the latter part of 2009, what with the lack of posts (not to mention tweets). I also got lazy over the summer, and so much for keeping track of everything I read last year. There are also a bunch of 2009 books I haven’t yet read. But here’s what I do remember about what I read last year.

Favorite YA Fiction
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork
Broken Soup by Jenny Valentine

Other Notable YA Fiction
Liar by Justine Larbalestier
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Favorite Non-YA Fiction
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson
Arctic Chill by Arnaldur Indriðason
Blood Safari by Deon Meyer
Nemesis by Jo Nesbø

(Yes, I realize these are all translated mysteries, and four of them are Scandinavian. Oh, and speaking of, that sticker on the cover of Box 21. I so disagree with it. I know The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a bestseller and people have heard of it and all, but I think the better comparison would be Håkan Nesser with maybe a bit of Karin Alvtegen, if you want to speak in terms of Swedes.)

Memorable Non-Fiction
Tokyo Vice: An American Reporter on the Police Beat in Japan by Jake Adelstein
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Philip Hoose (YA)
The Economy of Cities by Jane Jacobs

Belated Reading Kick
Meaning, thanks to these two books, I borrowed a whole bunch of books set in the same area, but am only about to get started on them now.

Southern African fiction, thanks to Deon Meyer and Irene Sabatini. (Not, strictly speaking, South African since The Boy Next Door is set in Rhodesia/Zimbabwe.)

First Book Read in 2010
Fire by Kristin Cashore

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 4:55 am

    I might have to add some of your titles to my list.

  2. January 9, 2010 6:26 pm

    Oooo. Agreed about Marcelo. I haven’t read Broken Soup yet, but I’ve liked other things Valentine has done. A commenter at my blog mentioned an upcoming one from her titled Ant Colony, but Amazon didn’t know a thing about it. Do you?

    • January 10, 2010 12:22 pm

      Just found it on Amazon.co.uk. No idea about a US release, though.

      You need to read Broken Soup, btw. I found it stronger and more heartfelt than Me, the Missing, and the Dead.

      • January 10, 2010 12:58 pm

        Oh, that’s right, she is from the other side of the pond. Oh well–it’ll just be on my list for a looooong time then.

        I have Broken Soup on my list but the library hasn’t bought it yet. Sigh. Glad to hear it’s worth the wait though.

  3. January 10, 2010 9:05 am

    I loved Marcelo in the Real World, definitely one of the best books of 2009. I loved Liar too and I need to read Leviathan. I also really liked the story of Claudette Colvin, I’m so glad she’s finally receiving much belated praise🙂

    • January 10, 2010 12:27 pm

      Leviathan was the coolest book I read last year, hands down. Just the atmosphere and design of the book alone were great. There’s a pretty good story tucked in there, as well.

      Re: Claudette Colvin. I’d never heard of her before Hoose’s book, but what a great way that was to learn about her!

  4. January 10, 2010 3:43 pm

    I must read Liar and Leviathan…and although Fire wasn’t the first book I read in 2010, I think it was the second!

join the discussion

