Skip to content

I feel so vindicated!

March 24, 2010

Forget my horrible DABWAHA bracket. *This* is what you call making a good prediction.

Back in 2008, when I first found out about Christopher Pike’s The Last Vampire reprints, I also mentioned that I thought Simon & Schuster should put together a Remember Me collection. Which they are doing. I also wanted a mystery-ish collection, but couldn’t include Weekend because it was published by Scholastic.

And what did I just spot?

A Christopher Pike collection from Scholastic, which includes Weekend and Slumber Party.

If anyone at Simon & Schuster or Scholastic wants some suggestions about what old school YA horror to put together next, drop me a line.😉 I still want a Final Friends collection (I have no idea how well it holds up, but I’m being selfish here and Jolene also wants this), and I think a Caroline B. Cooney cheerleader/vampire omnibus could work as long as no one expects to fall in love with the vampire. And this is just to start with! There could be a graduation-themed book with Be Mine by Jane McFann, The Yearbook by Peter Lerangis, and wasn’t Final Exam also about a high school senior? And…okay, so besides The Invitation, Sister Dearest, The Prom Dress and some Richie Tankersley Cusick books, I’m running out of titles that I actually remember.

Anyway, Pike has a new book coming out in September, The Secret of Ka. It’s…well, to be honest, it sounds kind of boring to me. Or maybe it’s that the description emphasizes romance more than the possible death(s) and monsters. Also, in hardcover? I say what Roger Sutton said about formulaic romances: “In my day we called these paperbacks.” God, I’m getting old.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    April 13, 2010 3:40 am

    I just came across your post and had to take a look at the YA novels I kept from my teens – I still have Pike’s Weekend, Slumber Party and Chain Letter. I also have the Final Friends books, but I’d love to see them reprinted in a new edition because I remember loving that series.

    I have a copy of The Lifeguard by Cusick, and a book called The Silver Link, The Silken Tie by Mildred Ames.

    Did you read any Windswept books? They were romantic thrillers with names like The Silent Witness and The Girl Cried Murder. My favorites were Dreams and Memories and The Phantom Light. My copies are so old; I’d love to have reprints. I think they’d do well today, but I’d have to reread. Maybe they’re too tame.

Trackbacks

  1. Maybe I should start a tumblr « The YA YA YAs

join the discussion

