Skip to content

More 2010 books I’m desperate to read

July 7, 2010
by

I feel so much more accomplished with these shorter lists! I’ve read nearly all the novels that were on my first list for 2010, something I can’t say about my previous lists.

Anyway, now that the year is more than half over, here are the books from the second half of the year that I absolutely have to read. Once again, while there are many upcoming books that sound interesting, I’m limiting myself here to those books I am *most* looking forward to.

Sequels

  • Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld (follows Leviathan)
  • Invisible Things by Jenny Davidson (follows The Explosionist)
  • A Body at the Tower by Y.S. Lee (follows A Spy in the House)

Asian-Americans!

  • Bitter Melon by Cara Chow. Even though I have never acquired a taste for bitter melon. No idea what it’s about, but with a title like this, it’s got to be Asian-American, right?

Other Novels

  • You by Charles Benoit, because everyone is raving about it.
  • Rosebush by Michele Jaffe, because of how much I enjoyed Kitty Kitty.
  • Crossing the Tracks by Barbara Stuber, because I get a Billie Standish Was Here vibe from what I’ve read about it, and I LOVE Billie Standish Was Here.

Non-Fiction

  • Sugar Changed the World by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos, because I love me a good microhistory. Also, because my mother grew up on a sugar plantation.

So few books. So sad!😦 To make up for it, here are a couple of books from 2011 as a bonus.

  • You Killed Wesley Payne by Sean Beaudoin. I haven’t read either of Beaudoin’s previous books, but this just sounds all kinds of awesome. It’s a noir-ish mystery set in high school, and there’s no way I can resist something like that.
  • Daughter of Xanadu by Dori Jones Yang, because it’s set in Mongolia!!!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 2:33 pm

    Can I add to your list? Jeannie Lin has a book coming out in October with Mills-Boon set in 8th century China called ‘Butterfly Swords’. It is fascinating!

    • July 7, 2010 2:48 pm

      Butterfly Swords is definitely on my 2010 Romances to Read list (along with Zoe Archer’s new series — again, Mongolia!!! — Meljean Brook’s new steampunk series, the next book in Jessica Andersen Final Prophecy series, and others).

      Then there’s also my 2010 Mysteries to Read list (top of this list: Hypothermia by Arnaldur Indridason, Thirteen Hours by Deon Meyer, Villain by Shuichi Yoshida, Love Songs from a Shallow Grave by Colin Cotterill).

  2. July 7, 2010 2:42 pm

    Um, holy cats, I didn’t realize that INVISIBLE THINGS was a sequel to THE EXPLOSIONIST! I was in a line right next to Jenny Davidson’s at BEA, but I don’t think I grabbed it. *kicks self* I loved THE EXPLOSIONIST!

  3. July 7, 2010 4:31 pm

    I need to read Leviathan. I bet I’m going to love it! And, then I can lust after the sequel along with you. Thanks for the list!

  4. July 22, 2010 8:20 am

    Another suggestion is The Familiars which is coming out in September. I would say the target audience is somewhere between 10 and 13 but even as a 19 year old I enjoyed it a lot. It’s about the animal companions to three young wizards who have gone missing.

join the discussion

