Skip to content

So about those fire covers

July 21, 2010
by

I started noticing them last year.

Now it seems like I’m seeing them all over the place. Which probably contributes to my impression that there are a lot of orange covers these days.

Well, I can’t tell if the thing on the Shadow Hills cover is supposed to be a flame or some kind of Chihuly-inspired glass. Or some other orange thing that at least looks like it could be a flame on a black background, just like the covers above it.

Anyway, you also have your fire-as-accent covers.

And can someone who’s seen this cover up close and in person tell me if this is (orange) smoke or fire? Or both?

Because there just might be enough covers with smoke on them to constitute another post.*

What did I miss?

And thanks to Kelly from Stacked for pointing me to this list of red hot books.

* Not a promise. Just saying.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 12:44 am

    Steamy!

    I never noticed this one. I don’t know if I like it.

  2. Melanie permalink
    July 22, 2010 1:35 am

    Pucker, by Melanie Gideon, may have been at the front of this trend. Also Uprising, by Margaret Peterson Haddix? I hadn’t noticed this as a trend; perhaps I was too busy noticing all of the smiley-face-themed covers!

    • July 22, 2010 8:45 am

      I was going to mention Pucker, too. I just read it and I really liked it.

  3. Jacket Whys permalink
    July 22, 2010 2:37 am

    I noticed it too, a while back. But I think the number of incidences of fire on book jackets has stepped up a notch this year!

  4. July 23, 2010 12:28 pm

    The covers are very interesting.

  5. Michele permalink
    July 27, 2010 3:40 am

    A similar trend is going on with movie posters, lots of orange (usually fire and paired with blue)

  6. July 30, 2010 1:29 am

    Another one you missed is the Witch and Wizard series by James Patterson. Got an ARC of the sequel The Gift, and while it’s not flames per se, it’s got a verrrry similar look.

    I can picture another one in my brain, but I’m going to have to go searching for the title…

  7. August 4, 2010 12:05 am

    Hmmm makes one question the originality of book cover designers.

join the discussion

