Skip to content

And on a lighter note

August 2, 2010

1. RITA winners were announced at the RWA conference this past weekend. Best Young Adult Romance went to Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

2. I finally read The Ask and the Answer. I didn’t read The Knife of Never Letting Go until May (!!! I know!) and thought, hey, if I read all of the books about two months apart from each other, maybe the wait for Monsters of Men won’t feel as long. But it DIDN’T WORK. This might actually have backfired because September 28 is so close I can almost taste it. Four months is like a third of a year, aka a bit of a wait, so maybe I would be a bit more patient than I am now.

3. Viola is now in my Pantheon of Heroines. Must think some more about who’d be in it, because right now the only other member I can think of is Meg from Ellen Emerson White’s The President’s Daughter books.

4. I am totally Team Chaos Walking but do want to read Mockingjay (not as much as a lot of other people, though) and enjoyed SLJ’s interview with Suzanne Collins.

5. Not light: The Book Smugglers on why they didn’t like Jackson Pearce’s Sister Red, and the comments section.

I started Sisters Red last, last weekend and didn’t bother to finish the entire book. I wanted to like it, I really did. That cover! Female characters who aren’t passive! But I stopped reading a bit after the part that Ana and Thea had a big problem with. This section did make me pause a bit—though definitely not as much as it did them, and I couldn’t have told you exactly why until reading their review, so thank you, Book Smugglers—but my reasons for putting the book down mainly came down to the rest of the items on Thea’s list of problems (Fenris? like fish? singular and plural are the same?). Plus, the whole thing about the identity of the person the werewolves were trying to bite (or whatever) to turn into a werewolf? TOTALLY PREDICTABLE. Seriously, was it supposed to be that obvious? I flipped to the end to check, saw that I was right, and combined with the rest of my problems, decided that was enough for me to give up on the book.

6. Oh, and Happy Birthday, Patti and Jennie!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 5:26 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry you have to wait for MONSTERS OF MEN. I broke down and ordered it from the UK and May, since I’d already been waiting for a few months. Totally worth it – the UK edition is gorgeous and it’s the perfect end to the series.

  2. August 3, 2010 6:30 am

    Chaos Walking is SOOOOO good. Viola deserves to be on your list. I love that the overriding message (or one of them) is that people are responsible for their own decisions. And that your decisions make you the person you are. I also loved that they didn’t have any super powers. Just normal folk stepping up.

    And thanks for the birthday wishes.

join the discussion

