Skip to content

Seriously?

September 29, 2010

Saw this at the bookstore last night and I do not like this cover change one bit.

It loses the magic and vibrancy that make the books so special. Instead, the cover is uninteresting and bland and doesn’t even hint at the colorful imagery that’s so vital to Block’s prose. I mean, lines like, “A kiss about apple pie à la mode with the vanilla creaminess melting in the pie heat. A kiss about chocolate, when you haven’t eaten chocolate in a year. A kiss about palm trees speeding by, trailing pink clouds when you drive down the Strip sizzling with champagne. A kiss about spotlights fanning the sky and the swollen sea spilling like tears over your legs.” (p. 29) Or, “She was crying and blowing her nose with pink Kleenex, and there were wadded up Kleenex roses all over the floor.” (p. 35) Not to mention, it doesn’t reflect some of the main characters…

I didn’t love the previous covers, but they’re much better than this one.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 4:25 am

    Mm. Without knowing anything about the book, I kind of like that cover? Although when I read your description about the books is does seem lacking and like it doesn’t go with the stories at all. But then, the two previous seem…almost dated? The first one looked really 90’s, and the second one looks early-2000s (although I really like the covers). The new one seems more “modern” to me, I guess. :D?

    • September 29, 2010 12:41 pm

      Good guesses on the pub dates for the editions with the older covers!

      The new cover is eye-catching and all (I mean, obviously, it caught my eye in the bookstore), but I just don’t think it’s a good match for the book itself. Or more precisely, Block’s style of writing.

  2. Eliza permalink
    September 29, 2010 6:06 am

    I totally agree! The covers to Dangerous Angels have never been great, but the cover to Weetzie Bat, I think the first edition, was pure, undiluted awesome. A collage of all things magical and wonderful and Californian. Like a miniature pink plastic flamingo, glitter, big sunglasses. Love! Here’s a link to a small picture of it, the only one I could find!
    http://www.languageisavirus.com/slinkster/modules/myalbum/photo.php?lid=1601&cid=17

  3. September 30, 2010 6:28 am

    Yes! I also have that neon original paperback. *sigh* The new cover makes it look like a ghost story.

    • September 30, 2010 8:45 pm

      Yeah, I was trying to decide. Ghost, fairy, or alien with hair?

  4. Jolene permalink*
    October 4, 2010 6:51 pm

    Totally reminds me of a manga cover. Or a close up picture of one of those really expensive anime dolls. Maybe the publishers really LOVE anime.

  5. December 4, 2010 7:52 pm

    This new cover is really bad. I absolutely love this book and it was one of the first ones that I read by Francesca Lia Block, so it hold a special place in my heart. The older covers were ok, but this one is almost creepy!😦

join the discussion

