Skip to content

Any Morris or Nonfiction Award predictions?

November 30, 2010
by

Shortlists for the William C. Morris Award (for “the achievement of a previously unpublished author, or authors, who have made a strong literary debut in writing for young adult readers”) and the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults (self-explanatory, right?) will be announced in early December.

One thing to keep in mind: the Morris committee looks at books published in the January 1 – December 31 calendar year. The Nonfiction Award, on the other hand, looks at books published between November 1 – October 31. Which means, I believe, that Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos’s Sugar Changed the World is not eligible this year.

I think this leaves The War to End All Wars by Russell Freedman and Susan Campbell Bartoletti’s excellent They Called Themselves the K.K.K. as likely titles on the shortlist, and probably Tanya Lee Stone’s The Good, the Bad, and the Barbie (which I haven’t read yet, nor Ann Angel’s Janis Joplin biography).

As for the Morris Award, there are so many strong YA debuts published these days I can’t even begin to guess. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson and Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver? All Unquiet Things by Anna Jarzab?

What are your picks?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 11:24 am

    I nominated and am keeping my fingers crossed for STOLEN by Lucy Christopher on the Morris list!

    I kind of forgot The Sky is Everywhere was a debut…definitely has potential all over it.

    • December 1, 2010 7:38 pm

      Man, that was an intense book. I’d have no problem at all with it being on the Morris list.

  2. November 30, 2010 1:08 pm

    Ohhh, I am hoping that MOSTLY GOOD GIRLS by Leila Sales will get some love. Also AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR by Morgan Matson. Oh and THE IRON KING by Julie Kagawa (a Louisville native! Woo!).

    Now that I’m looking back, I have read quite a few excellent debuts…
    I’m psyched to see the shortlist!!!!!

    • December 1, 2010 7:38 pm

      I haven’t read Mostly Good Girls yet. Must get to it soon!

join the discussion

