Skip to content

A last (happy) look at 2010

December 31, 2010
by

Total books read this year: 169
Total YA books read: 87

Blew. Me. Away.
Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
Nothing
by Janne Teller

Guess I’m Not Sick of YA Series After All, Because I Can’t Wait to Read
whatever will follow Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker
Liar’s Moon by Elizabeth C. Bunce (sequel to Star Crossed)
Betrayal by Lee Nichols (sequel to Deception)

Notable Debuts
All Unquiet Things by Anna Jarzab
Harmonic Feedback by Tara Kelly
A Spy in the House (The Agency) by Y.S. Lee
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

What Took Me So Long?!?!
Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher
The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick

Proof that the Second Book in Trilogies Don’t Have to Suck
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness
The Body At the Tower (The Agency) by Y.S. Lee

Pleasant Surprise
Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan (basically, what Leila said)

Earned Their Happy Ending
The Road Home by Ellen Emerson White

I Want Kiki Crusher to Be My Friend
Slayed by Amanda Marrone

Hottest First Kiss, and Not Just Because of the Coffee
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John (bonus points for the Asian-American male love interest!)

Favorite Non-YA books
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer
Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn
Random Violence by Jassy Mackenzie
The Devil’s Star
by Jo Nesbø
Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein
and Meljean Brook’s story “Here There Be Monsters” in Burning Up (bought the book just for this story, and it was worth it)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 2:05 pm

    I CANNOT WAIT to read the books from The Agency series… but I’m waiting for there to be at least three of them, because I know how the Parasol Protectorate series just about killed me to have to wait for the sequels.

    I am dying, though.

    Happy New Year. Thanks for your reviews, which have made me long for many, many, MANY books…!

  2. December 31, 2010 2:06 pm

    Definitely agree with you about NOTHING, it was surprisingly powerful. And I’m really enjoyed Lee’s Agency series – can’t wait for the next one!

  3. December 31, 2010 2:48 pm

    SUCH A FANTASTIC WRAP-UP! Obviously there have been about a thousand “Best of..” posts lately, but yours is one of my favorites. All of the books in the “What Took Me So Long??” category are AMAZING. The 3rd Chaos Walking book is even better than the first two! And have you read Deadline by Chris Crutcher? Life changing.

    Happy New Year!!

  4. December 31, 2010 4:15 pm

    fun list! i’m so glad you’ve experienced the sheer awesomeness that is the Chaos Walking trilogy! and i’m totally on board with you with the whole “i’m sick of waiting for series but MAN i can’t help myself” with Ship Breaker.

    and, despite the horrid cover, it sounds like giving Immortal Beloved a try would be a wise decision in 2011…even if it is another series!

    cheers!

  5. January 1, 2011 1:48 pm

    Aww, THANK YOU, everyone, because I’d probably still blog even if no one commented, but readers and commenters like you all make the blog that much more worthwhile.

    Tanita – The first two The Agency books stand alone pretty well. Each book’s primary mystery is solved within that book, and as for the larger threads that are woven throughout the series, well, I think it makes sense that those subplots would take longer to resolve.

    Danya – Yeah, Nothing was…wow. I read it mostly because it was translated — the plot, or at least the Lord of the Flies comparison, gave me some doubts — but it was so mindboggling and powerful. And, obviously, I can’t wait for the next Agency book, either.

    Katie – As a whole, the Chaos Walking books comprise as strong a trilogy as I can recall, but The Ask and The Answer is my favorite of the series. (And how often can you say that about book #2?) I have read Deadline, and while it did make me cry too, for some reason, I didn’t get attached to it the way I did Whale Talk.

    Lisa – Well, Immortal Beloved has one of those really abrupt endings that could have really annoyed me, but since it was a Pleasant Surprise (I mean, I picked it up with really low expectations, not thinking I’d complete half the book, nevermind the whole thing), it ended up not bothering me as much.

  6. January 1, 2011 1:53 pm

    I’ve got to check and see what awards Whale Talk won. It is one of the best YA books ever but it seems to fly under the radar.

    • January 2, 2011 1:57 pm

      Hmm, I see it made the 2002 BBYA list. But yeah, it doesn’t seem to get the same attention as Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes or some of Crutcher’s other books.

  7. Keishon permalink
    January 1, 2011 2:29 pm

    I tried reading Nothing and set it aside. Where does it grip you? I got to the part where the kids started retaliating against the kid in the tree who taunts at them. Does it get better? I’ve set aside great books before so, I know it’s me. I need a spoiler.

  8. January 2, 2011 11:35 am

    oh man, i just cannot say enough awesome things about the Chaos Walking trilogy, but seriously TAaTA was the most emotionally gut-wrenching for me by far…i don’t know if i’d agree that it’s my favorite, but that’s only because the entire series is so dang incredible!

    good to know about IB…i’ll adjust my mental book bar accordingly.

    • January 2, 2011 1:58 pm

      I think that’s part of the reason it’s my favorite of the three, considering the themes running through the series.

  9. January 4, 2011 2:46 pm

    That was a great kiss in Five Flavors of Dumb. Do you plan on doing any predictions before Monday. Posting mine on Saturaday. Last year I only guessed one Printz correctly. Very sad.

    • January 4, 2011 8:26 pm

      I’m not sure I’ll be making Printz predictions. I still want to read a couple more books first (namely Revolution for the Printz, and Hush for the Morris), but I feel pretty confident in saying I think Susan Campbell Bartoletti’s going to get the Nonfiction Award.

      In any case, the one you got right last year was better than how my predictions fared.

join the discussion

