Skip to content

Books I’m most looking forward to in 2011

January 4, 2011
by

Young Adult
There are lots of other books I plan to read, but these are the ones I really, really, really want to read.

  • Abandon by Meg Cabot. The myth of Persephone, “darkly reimagined” by Meg Cabot. I am intrigued.
  • Deadly by Julie Chibbaro. The early 1900s New York setting got my attention. Throw in words like typhoid and investigation, and you’ve *really* got my attention.
  • The Revenant by Sonia Gensler. A ghost! And a mystery! In 1896! At a Cherokee school!
  • How I Stole Johnny Depp’s Alien Girlfriend by Gary Ghislain. Doesn’t matter what it’s about, I can’t resist the title.
  • The Girl is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines. World War II-era historical mystery. Oh, yes.
  • Bad Taste in Boys by Carrie Harris. Okay, zombies are getting a bit old, but it sounds fun and I really like the cover.
  • The Returning by Christine Hinwood. I usually don’t put much stock into author blurbs, but this was blurbed by Megan Whalen Turner AND Melina Marchetta, and Adele raved about it.
  • The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. Johnson is a hit-or-miss author for me, but this just sounds soooooo good. Between Jack the Ripper and a paranormal branch of the British police, I can’t wait.
  • Putting Makeup on Dead People by Jen Violi. See above, How I Stole Johnny Depp’s Alien Girlfriend.
  • All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin. Even though the second half of Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac fell apart for me, I’m curious to see what she does with a dystopia.

I know, none of these are multicultural. There are some that I do want to read (namely Alex Sanchez’s Boyfriends with Girlfriends and Dawn Metcalf’s Luminous), but nothing that I want to read as much as any of the above. Here are two booklists if you’re looking for more 2011 multicultural books, from Color Online and Crazy Quilts.

Not YA

  • The Night Season by Chelsea Cain. I’ve been a fan since I snagged the last ARC of Heartsick (and got it autographed) at ALA in 2007, so even though I’m not sure how I feel about a new villain, I still really want to read this. But Gretchen’s gotta make an appearance anyway, right?
  • Killed at the Whim of a Hat by Colin Cotterill. New mystery series set in present-day Thailand by one of my favorite authors.
  • The October Killings by Wessel Ebersohn. I’ve been curious since this Wall Street Journal article and the “Foreign Affairs” booklist, which mentioned Ebersohn along with Deon Meyer and Malla Nunn.
  • Vienna Waltz by Teresa Grant. Under the name Tracy Grant, she wrote Daughter of the Game (aka Secrets of a Lady) and Beneath a Silent Moon, two books with basically everything I could ask for in historical thrillers: spies and satisfying political intrigue, mystery, family secrets, and romance. (Links are to the reviews at All About Romance that introduced me to the series.) Vienna Waltz, if I understand it correctly, is a new story that features the same main characters. I feel a reread coming on.
  • The Snowman by Jo Nesbø. Although, what is up with bringing over these books out of order? I mean, The Redbreast/Nemesis/The Devil’s Star are actually books 3-5, and The Snowman is book 7. What happened to The Redeemer?

YA Books Mentioned in Previous Posts

  • You Killed Wesley Payne by Sean Beaudoin
  • Betrayal by Lee Nichols
  • Daughter of Xanadu by Dori Jones Yang
14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 8:10 am

    Okay, I’m going to have to check out the Tracy Grant. I forget if you’ve read the Lady Julia Grey books, Trisha. But these sound similar and so have me wanting to know more.

    And The Returning really does sound like something.

    • January 6, 2011 10:45 am

      I think I tried the first one. Or was that Tasha Alexander? I can’t remember. In any case, I know you and Leila and so many others are fans that I’m giving it another (or first) chance.

  2. Tracy Grant permalink
    January 5, 2011 6:19 pm

    So great to find “Vienna Waltz” on your list! Here are some details about how it fits into the series:

    http://tracygrant.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/new-year-new-book-contracthttptracygrant-wordpress-comwp-adminpost-new-php/

    Happy New Year!!
    Tracy

  3. January 6, 2011 4:33 am

    I’ve added four of these to my 2011 list. Thanks

    • January 6, 2011 10:46 am

      I’m curious. Which ones? And you’re welcome!

      • January 8, 2011 4:40 pm

        The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – I am a fan and it sounds really good.

        The Return by Hinwood – You had me at blurbed by Melina Marchetta

        Putting Makeup on Dead People – I love the title and summary.

        I was tempted to add the new Zevin title but I am taking a break from dystopia fiction.

        I already had Abandon on my list and I am looking forward to it. I really miss reading Cabot. Her MG voice doesn’t do it for me.

        Posted my predictions today. If you read this before Monday there’s still time to make a few guesses of your own.

  4. January 6, 2011 4:09 pm

    Persephone is my favorite myth, definitely reading Abandon!! Must have the Zevin book as well =)

  5. Keishon permalink
    January 9, 2011 3:58 pm

    Still no The Redeemer? Huh. That makes zero sense to me. I buy his books from the UK and am looking forward to The Leopard in about a week.

  6. January 10, 2011 6:25 am

    They just named the Printz winner. I got zero correct. I suck. This is the last year I try to guess anything.

    • January 10, 2011 7:13 am

      No, keep making predictions. You did better than me on the non-Printz awards. Especially the Alex!

  7. January 10, 2011 7:37 am

    I only got two of the Alex right.

    I can’t believe I forget Bryan Collier’s illus. for Dave the Potter. Rookie mistake.

    What happened to They called themseleves the kkk? I am very surprised and disappointed.

    Nothing did get a Printz Honor.

join the discussion

