Skip to content

Quick YMA reactions

January 10, 2011

Full list of award winners here.

Anyway, I didn’t do predictions this year because I was so unsure, but can I just direct you to my comment over at Jackie’s? Even though I got the Morris wrong (because I figured, hey, a fantasy has won the last two years! Should have stuck with what I said in the comments at Stacked, that I thought The Freak Observer had the most award-bait) and I thought there was no way Interrupting Chicken was going to win even a Caldecott honor. And when I have more time, I need to read the interviews with David Ezra Stein and Erin Stead at Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast.

Overall, while there were some surprises, I’m really happy with this year’s YMA winners and honor books. Especially the Printz; I think this is the happiest I’ve been with the Printz list since becoming a librarian. The list in its entirety, I mean, since Jellicoe Road winning in 2009 was, by itself, so overwhelmingly exciting and squee-inducing that I didn’t really care which books received honors. 40% of this year’s Printz list shocked me by actually being predictable (Nothing and the winner, Ship Breaker, which both had strong Mock Printz support, and you all know how I feel about these two books in the first place), and the other 60% shocked me by being, well, shocking. Stolen, I had written off when it didn’t make the Morris shortlist. I tried reading Revolver earlier this year, because it was on Patti’s Mock Printz list, but couldn’t get into it, so I’ll guess I need to give it another try. (Also, what happens in the epilogue?) And I started Please Ignore Vera Dietz yesterday after talking with another librarian on Friday, so I plan to finish it after posting this. Well, either that or take a nap, since I only got a couple of hours of sleep because I woke up extra, extra early to watch the awards webcast and have to go to work later.

My other reactions boil down to:

1. What happened to They Called Themselves the K.K.K. by Susan Campbell Bartoletti? It’s like this year’s Marching for Freedom.

2. Really happy that Five Flavors of Dumb won the Schneider Family Award for teens.

ETA: 3. ALA Annual is in New Orleans this year, right? So it’s even more apropos that Ship Breaker won. Would love to be there for the Printz ceremony and Bacigalupi’s speech.

Okay, I’ve made up my mind. Naptime. Then work, and hopefully I can check out everyone else’s reactions during lunch.

Thanks to the award committees, and congratulations to all the winners and honorees!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 8:15 am

    I have been rooting for Stein for years, and I knew back in ’09 that Amos McGee was special! I’m not tooting my own psychic horn or …whatever. I’m just still excited and happy that committee was so smart!

    I’m having trouble calming down. Need to get to work. Always a fun day.

    • January 10, 2011 12:50 pm

      You should toot your own horn! Your blog is the first place I go to when it comes to picture books.

  2. January 10, 2011 8:19 am

    Yay for your comment prediction mojo! I’m kicking myself from forgetting about Nothing. That’s what I get for doing my predictions at midnight.

    • January 10, 2011 11:20 am

      Nothing had it made for the translation award. Kim called that back in June.

    • January 10, 2011 12:55 pm

      I can’t take credit for picking Interrupting Chicken. I thought it was too populist and funny to get a second look, but I’m more than happy to be proven wrong.

      And, Jackie, don’t know if you’ve had a chance to read Hold Me Closer, Necromancer because of your Cybils duties, but there’s another Seattle book for you. (I picked up, like, four or five YAs set in Seattle over the course of one week.) Too bad it didn’t win the Morris. Oh well.

      Kelly, I have to admit I had my doubts for Nothing and the Batchelder, because it’s an ALSC award and I thought it might be considered too YA. Again, I’m happy to be wrong. And I totally thought of you when they announced Stolen for a Printz honor. “Kelly must be happy!”

  3. January 10, 2011 9:05 am

    one word: stolen.

    seriously! my DREAM book.

  4. January 10, 2011 6:46 pm

    The epilogue was full of stupid, it was unnecessary, although obviously the Printz committee didn’t find it offensive – or they thought the rest of the book balanced it out. Or…who knows! That is part of the fun. What I particularly enjoyed was how spare the book was and how the setting matched that spareness.

    It is interesting how the books people were rooting for really found their way onto the awards lists. It is sort of neat. Although did Willems really need another Geisel?

    • January 10, 2011 10:16 pm

      Okay, now I want to read Revolver to see just how bad the epilogue is.

      And as for Mo Willems needing another Geisel… *shrugs* I don’t think Weston Woods needs another Carnegie, either, but the bit from The Curious Garden that they showed looked awfully adorable.

  5. January 11, 2011 4:57 pm

    I haven’t even thought of the New Orleans connection. Very cool.

    • January 17, 2011 2:37 pm

      I have no idea what kind of speaker Bacigalupi is, but I’m thinking this connection has got to make for a great speech, right?

  6. January 12, 2011 7:05 am

    My Printz prediction method failed me this year, but I have not actually read any of them, so… I better get on that!

    • January 17, 2011 2:36 pm

      You do! I’m super curious to hear what you think of Ship Breaker.

Trackbacks

  1. 2011 ALA Youth Media Award Winners | Ypulse

join the discussion

