Skip to content

Bonus features

March 21, 2011

I’m discussing Tamora Pierce and her new short story collection Tortall and Other Lands over at the Kirkus blog today. However, there are some things that were either not appropriate for that forum or I didn’t think of until after I wrote my post, but wanted to mention anyway.

So, the inappropriate first:

You know how the ladies of Forever Young Adult have drinking games, like this one for Sweet Valley High, and this one for The Hunger Games? There must be a way of creating a Tamora Pierce drinking game. One drink every time the heroine feeds an animal! Two drinks every time she has a conversation with an animal! One drink every time someone doubts the heroine can defeat a male in a fight!

This was as far as I got, and we might have to make an Immortals exception for the animal feeding and conversation parts, so I’ll leave it to FYA, or anyone else who would like to pick up the slack, to finish the drinking game.

And the “why didn’t I think of this earlier?” portion:

Though two of the stories are from a male POV, the first is about a tree who is turned into a man, but largely ends up being a story about the religious oppression of women. The second is about Nawat (from the Trickster books) and the birth of his and Aly’s children and becoming a human-ish father. And now that I think about it, I wonder what it says that the two male POV stories are both about men learning what it is to be human, since they were magically transformed into men from their original existence as a tree and crow, respectively.

Has anyone else read Tortall and Other Lands yet? Am I reading too much into it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 2:34 pm

    Have my copy on hold and can’t wait to read! Drinking game hilarious — just tweeted about it!

    • March 22, 2011 12:18 am

      Watch out for “Mimic”! You might be able to get drunk off just one short story.

      Seriously, though, I’d love to see someone put a full game together.

  2. L. Pendragon permalink
    May 18, 2011 1:47 pm

    I know I’m a bit late commenting, but as no one esle has stepped up, I figured I’d at least show that someone was reading the blog!

    I’m not sure that “reading too much into it” is the right phrasing. With Tamora Pierce books, you know what you’re going to get when you pick the book up. She’s well known for her strong female role model writing. So, yes, her short stories were extremely female-centric, but it’s not surprising in any way.

    I, personally, loved the stories. And I think the drinking game idea is quite amusing.

    • May 18, 2011 9:59 pm

      Thanks!

      Yes, I agree that people with Pierce’s books wouldn’t be surprised by how female-centric the collection is. And you’re probably also right that “reading too much into it” isn’t the best phrase. I think what I was wondering was why the stories with male protagonists were about characters transformed into humans, instead of boys/men who had always been human (and then also had their beliefs challenged).

join the discussion

