Skip to content

This month at the Kirkus blog

April 23, 2011
by

A brief excerpt:

The lack of representation of teens from a variety of ethnicities, abilities, socioeconomic backgrounds, genders and sexualities is problematic, but since Asian Pacific American Heritage Month is coming up in May, I’d like to focus on the troublesome lack of YA novels featuring Asian-American guys.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 12:53 am

    Hear, hear!
    Inasmuch as I used to watch Trading Spaces just to oogle Asian designer Vern Yip, I daresay YA should get on the bandwagon with this one.

    I can’t comment on the Kirkus thingy because it’s a Facebook sign-in and I gave mine up, but I do read your stuff!

    • April 24, 2011 11:35 pm

      Don’t worry about not commenting at the Kirkus site; I can’t comment there myself since I’m not on Facebook, either.

join the discussion

