Skip to content

If this Kirkus gig has taught me anything

May 16, 2011
by

it’s that 1) having an editor is awesome, and 2) there’s no way I’d be able to review for a professional print publication because I cannot review concisely.

I’m reviewing Rachel Neumeier’s The Floating Islands at the Kirkus blog today, and even though I had a lot more words to work with than your standard print review, I still wasn’t able to fit in everything I wanted to say.

Namely, I think the book cover is just perfect. And, it’s not a perfect readalike for Megan Whalen Turner, Tamora Pierce, or Alison Goodman’s Eon, but it includes some similar elements to them. So if you enjoyed the three, I think this is worth taking a chance on.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 2:02 pm

    Oh yes, it used to KILL ME to boil reviews down to whatever, 200 words. Impossible! The Kirkus gig looks waaay more fun.

  2. May 17, 2011 4:16 am

    Ooo, looks good! I’ll have to bump that one up the list…

join the discussion

