Skip to content

Congratulations, and a few links

July 1, 2011
by

Julie Kagawa’s The Iron King won the RITA for best Young Adult Romance.

So *pats myself on the back* since my RITA prediction turned out to be right, here’s hoping this means Patrick Ness will win the Printz for A Monster Calls. I’ll post my review when we get closer to the pub date, but here’s a hint: OH. MY. GOD. IT IS SOOOO GOOD AND I LOVE IT. Also, I’ve read it twice and cried both times.

Okay, on to the links:

  • Kelly’s tips on designing fliers at Field Acquisitions.
  • The Light and Round Project, “a weekly roundup of suggestions for YA books (and upper middle grade–the two tend to blend) that are light to absent on the dark and edgy elements,” at From the Mixed Up-Files of Jennifer Bertman. I also love Jenn’s Creative Spaces series, which are interviews and a peek at the workspace of authors and illustrators.
  • A recap of this year’s Printz Award Honor speeches at The Hub. I hope the full speeches, and Paolo Bacigalupi’s, as well, will be posted on one of the YALSA blogs or at Booklist Online soon (2010 speeches here).
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 11:02 am

    AHH I cannot wait to read A Monster Calls. So much love for that book! I’ve been putting it off to use as one of those treat books after a few bummers (you know what I mean). But oh, how it keeps bumping up my pile!

    And thanks for the link love!

    • July 5, 2011 8:18 pm

      You’re welcome! It’s an awesome, extremely useful post, so thanks for sharing your tips.

      re: A Monster Calls, gah I love it so much. I know what you mean about saving it. Maybe you need to read some books you have extremely low expectations for and see if you can get to it faster.🙂 Not that the low-expectation books will automatically end up being bummers, but…

join the discussion

