Skip to content

My 48 Hour Book Challenge plan

June 9, 2012
by

My goal: 16 hours

I pledge: $2.00 to Reading is Fundamental for each hour

The books: I need to finish reading Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, then I plan to focus solely on YA. There’ll probably be an afternoon (or night) of assassins—I’ve got ARCs of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass and Cassandra Rose Clarke’s The Assassin’s Curse, plus Robin LaFever’s Grave Mercy checked out from the library, to name just three books. I’d like to do what Maureen is planning to do; that is, writing reviews of the books I read this weekend and posting them throughout the summer. So I hope I enjoy most of the books I pick up enough to finish them! Anyway, enough talking for now. I need to start reading!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2012 1:02 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out! I loved Grave Mercy like hot damn, and was very disappointed that I didn’t get my greedy little hands on Throne of Glass. I also found Quiet a very interesting read. I’ll be on the lookout for your reviews in the coming weeks.

  2. June 9, 2012 1:11 pm

    I’ll be interested in what you think of Quiet. I finished that one last week. And same here — I’m hoping to write up the reviews to post them throughout the summer. // Kelly @ STACKED (uhm, wordpress blogs HATE my blogger blog)

  3. June 9, 2012 1:58 pm

    Saving reviews is a great idea, especially when you can count reviewing time as part of your reading time, so thanks, Maureen.

    As for Quiet, I had such a personal reaction to it that I’m having a hard time being objective about it. I used the word “validated” in my not-a-review, because for me it’s one of those perspective-shifting books.

    • June 9, 2012 3:32 pm

      I agree with you on that! I gave this book to various family members and some of the topics she talks about come to mind when I’m just full to the brim with people.

  4. June 9, 2012 4:06 pm

    It is always nice to read and write a lot of reviews, because sometimes the summer gets busier than the school year and it’s good to be able to take a little vacation. Hope you meet your goal!

    • June 9, 2012 5:32 pm

      I hope so, too! I’m definitely on track so far, so I’m happy.

  5. June 9, 2012 6:51 pm

    I haven’t heard of Quiet, but it looks like its struck a nerve with this crowd. I’ll have to check it out.

    And I am super jelly of Throne of Glass.

    Good luck meeting your goal!

    • June 10, 2012 1:52 am

      I was so excited when I opened the box and saw Throne of Glass!

      And I’m more than 3/4 of the way to my goal, which is awesome.

join the discussion

